The Criticos Prize was established in 1996 and has now been awarded sixteen times. The Prize is worth £10,000. It is funded by the Athens-based Criticos-Fotinelli Foundation and administration is undertaken by the London Hellenic Society.

For the 2013 competition, we have received 94 eligible publications from publishers and individuals across the globe viewable here.

From these many authors, the Adjudicating Committee is very happy to announce Sir Peter Stothard as the winner of the 2013 Prize for his Alexandria: The Last Nights of Cleopatra, published by Granta.

Full details of the Long List and Short List will be posted very soon.